However, there’s no need for alarm. One can opt out of sharing their account information. The new update is already being made available for iOS users. Once updated, the user is asked to accept the terms and conditions where there is an option to deselect the ‘Share with Facebook’ option.
Have you already agreed to sharing the account information? Again, no need for alarm. Users can go into Settings and in the Account tab, there is an option to deselect the ‘Share My Account Info’ option. According to Whatsapp, opting for this change is irreversible.
Whatsapp reported on its website, “We will share some of your account information with Facebook and the Facebook family of
companies, like the phone number you verified when you registered with WhatsApp, as well as the last time you used our service.”