DhoniIndia will launch its ICC Champions Trophy title defence against traditional rival Pakistan when the two Asian powerhouses go head to head at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on 4 June 2017.

The 18-day tournament will run from 1 to 18 June 2017 and will also see matches played at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff and The Oval in London.

The tournament schedule was announced at The Oval exactly a year before the first ball is bowled in the tournament, in which a total of 15 matches – including three knock-out games – will be played over two and a half weeks.

Defending champion India leads Group B, which also comprises South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

World champion Australia  heads Group A, which also includes New Zealand, England and Bangladesh, who will be returning to this competition for the first time since 2006.

Group A                  Group B

Australia                   India

New Zealand       South Africa

England                 Sri Lanka

Bangladesh            Pakistan


Event schedule:

Thurs, 1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d)

Fri, 2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)

Sat, 3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d)

Sun, 4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d)

Mon, 5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n)

Tues, 6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d)

Wed, 7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n)

Thurs, 8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d)

Fri, 9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d)

Sat, 10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (d)

Sun, 11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (d)

Mon, 12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d)

Wed, 14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d)

Thurs, 15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d)

Sun, 18 June – Final, The Oval (d)

Mon, 19 June – Reserve day (d)

For all the latest news and updates from India and across the globe, follow us on @NewsWorldIN on Twitter and News World India on Facebook