virat kohli Ind vs SA

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recommended the name of ace Indian cricketer Virat Kohli for the prestigious Khel Ratna Awards. While his teammate, Ajinkya Rahane has been nominated for the Arjun Awards.

Kohli, who received the Arjuna Award in 2013, got the nomination after he guided India to the T20 Worldcup semifinals.

He was declared the Man of the Tournament for scoring 273 runs at an average of 136.50 at a strike rate of 146.77 with three 50-plus scores.

Kohli will become the third Indian cricketer after batting legend Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2007) to receive the award.

Meanwhile, India’s Mr. Consistent, Rahane has been awarded with the nomination for his good performance in both Test and ODI formats over the past few months.

Rohit Sharma was awarded Arjuna Award last year.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award carries a prize money of Rs. 7.5 lakh and a citation, while the Arjuna Award carries a amount of Rs. 5 lakh and a citation.