Anurag1Indian Cricket Board secretary Anurag Thakur is all set become Indian cricket board’s new president as a replacement for Shashank Manohar, who recently stepped down from the post and has since been elected the chief of International Cricket Council.

Thakur has reportedly secured the backing of East Zone representatives who are going to nominate the president this time around. The reports also said that the Thakur camp hasn’t left any stone unturned to make him a unanimous candidate for the presidential post.

It is also reported that if Thakur becomes the President, then the head of the Maharashtra Cricket Association Ajay Shirke could become the next BCCI secretary.

The name of the former India captain Sourav Ganguly also came up as a possible candidate for the next BCCI president. However, Ganguly, currently the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), ruled himself out of the running last week, saying he does not meet the eligibility criteria.

The election to select the new BCCI president is slated to be held on May 22.

(With Agency Inputs)