rekha-aryaUttarakhand Assembly Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal on Thursday disqualified BJP’s Bhim Lal Arya and Congress’ Rekha Arya from the House under the anti-defection law for voting against their parties during the floor test held on May 10.

Both the legislators have been disqualified under the anti-defection law for going against the whip issued by their parties and cross voting during the Supreme Court-monitored
floor test, Kunjwal told PTI.

ALSO READ:  Uttarakhand Floor Test Today At 11 AM, Harish Rawat Awaits Results

“There was enough evidence against them to prove that they went against the whips of their parties and action was taken on that basis,” he said.

This is the second such action by the Speaker who had on March 27 disqualified nine Congress MLAs who had revolted against Chief Minister Harish Rawat and joined hands with BJP.

There are now 60 MLAs in the 71-seat legislature. Violating party whip, BJP Ghansali MLA Bhim Lal had voted in favour of the Harish Rawat government while Congress legislator from Someshwar Rekha had voted in favour of BJP during the confidence vote.

Both the parties had petitioned the Speaker through their Chief Whips in the assembly demanding action against the MLAs under the anti-defection law.

Bhim lal inclination towards Congress was well known and had led to his suspension from the party. But Rekha had switched her loyalty at the eleventh hour arriving at the state assembly in the company of BJP MLAs and cross voting during the floor test.

However, her support could not help BJP topple the Rawat government as the party’s tally remained static at 28 whereas Congress, helping the Congress dispensation sail through with
the support of 33 MLAs including Bhim lal.