Representational image of party sings of BJP and Congress.
Representational image of party sings of BJP and Congress.

Two former Congress MLAs today joined BJP ahead of the upcoming state elections due in early 2017.

The former Congress MLAs, N Biren and Francis Ngajokpa were warmly received by BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav, BJP’s National Democratic Alliance Convenor Himanta Biswa and state party President Bhabananda here.

Also Read: Watch: Congress MLA Throws Shoe At Punjab Minister Bikram Singh Majithia

Ngajokpa had tendered his resignation from the house as well as from the primary membership of the party on October 13 and N Biren on October 6 this year.

Also Read: Former BSP Leader Swami Prasad Maurya Joins BJP

Though Ngajokpa maintained that he had resigned from Congress due to the pressure of his voters of Tadubi in Senapati district, N Biren alleged that the present incumbent Ibobi Singh government had failed to bring good governance in the state.

Earlier in September last, veteran Congress MLA Y Erabot was the first to resign from the party to join BJP.