Naxal Attacks In India On Security Forces: A Timeline
A chronology of Naxal attacks on security forces in the country in the past 10 years.

A chronology of Naxal attacks on security forces in the country in the past 10 years:

July 19, 2016: Naxals ambushed CRPF commandos in the jungles of Bihar’s Aurangabad district with an IED blast followed by an encounter which resulted in the deaths of ten CRPF commandos.

July 20, 2015: Naxals attacked a construction site in Banka district, wounding many construction workers. The Naxals, 20 in number, also torched two SUVs, one tractor and one motorcycle.

June 14, 2014: Around 500 Naxals hijacked the Dhanbad-Patna express train in Jamui district. They managed to kill three passengers, wounding six others. Meanwhile, the Naxals also fired gunshots and detonated bombs. There were 1500 passengers on board when the incident took place.

April 10, 2014: During the Lok Sabha elections, Naxals managed to blow up a CRPF jeep injuring six CRPF commandos and killing two others in Jamui district.

March 11, 2014: 15 security persons killed in Chattisgarh’s Sukma district.

February 28, 2014: Six police personnel, including a SHO, killed in Maoist attack in Dantewada district of Chhattisgarh.

July 2, 2013: Five policemen including Superintendent of Police of Pakur killed in an attack in Dumka, Jharkhand.

May 25, 2013: 25 Congress leaders including former state minister Mahendra Karma and Chhattisgarh Congress chief Nand Kumar Patel killed in a Naxal attack in Darbha valley in Chhattisgarh.

October 18, 2012: Six CRPF men killed and eight personnel, including a deputy commandant, were injured in landmine blasts and gunbattle between the cops in Gaya district.

June 29, 2010: At least 26 CRPF personnel killed in a Naxal ambush in Narayanpur district of Chhattisgarh.

May 8, 2010: Eight CRPF jawans killed when Naxals blow up a bullet-proof vehicle in Bijapur district of Chhhattisgarh.

April 6, 2010: 75 CRPF personnel and a Chhattisgarh police official killed in a Naxal attack in Dantewada district.

April 4, 2010: Maoists trigger a landmine blast killing 11 security personnel of the elite anti-Naxal force Special Operations Group (SOG) in Koraput district of Odisha.

Feb 15, 2010: 24 personnel of the Eastern Frontier Rifles (EFR) killed as Maoists attack their camp in Silda in West Midnapore district of West Bengal.

Oct 8, 2009: 17 policemen killed when Maoists ambushed them at Laheri police station in Gadchiroli district of Maharashtra.

Sep 26, 2009: Naxals kill BJP MP from Balaghat Baliram Kashyap’s sons at Pairaguda village in Jagdalpur (Chhattisgarh).

Sep 4, 2009: Naxals kill four villagers in a forest in Aaded village in Chhattisgarh’s Bijapur district.

July 27, 2009: Six persons killed when Naxals trigger a landmine blast at Dantewada district in Chhattisgarh.

July 18, 2009: Naxalites kill a villager in Bastar and in a separate incident torch a vehicle engaged in road construction work in Bijapur district of Chhattisgarh.

June 23, 2009: A group of motorcycle-borne armed Naxal rebels open fire on Lakhisarai district court premises in Bihar and free four of their comrades including the self-style Zonal Commander of Ranchi.

June 16, 2009: Maoists kill 11 police officers in a landmine attack followed by armed assault. In a separate attack, four policemen killed and two others seriously injured when Maoists ambush them at Beherakhand in Palamau district.

June 13, 2009: Naxals launch two landmine and bomb attacks in a small town close to Bokaro, killing 10 policemen and injuring several others.

June 10, 2009: Nine policemen, including CRPF troops and officers, ambushed by Maoists during a routine patrol in Saranda jungles in Jharkhand.

May 22, 2009: Maoists kill 16 policemen in the jungles of Gadchiroli district in Maharashtra.

April 22, 2009: Maoists hijack a train with at least 300 people on board in Jharkhand and force it to Latehar district before fleeing.

April 13, 2009: 10 paramilitary troops killed in eastern Odisha when Maoists attack a bauxite mine in Koraput district.

July 16, 2008: 21 policemen killed when a police van is blown up in a landmine blast in Malkangiri district of Odisha.

June 29, 2008: Maoists attack a boat on Balimela reservoir in Odisha carrying four police officials and 60 Greyhound commandos, killing 38 troops.