smart cityUnion Minister Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday announced the results of Fast track Smart City competition, the list was topped by the city of Nawabs ‘Lucknow’.

23 cities with the highest ranking from as many states and union territories, which failed to get representation in the first round of competition held in January participated in the ‘Fast Track Competition’.

However, only 13 qualified, the other 12 winners include: 2 Warangal, 3-Dharamsala, 4-Chandigarh, 5-Raipur, 6-New Town Kolkata, 7-Bhagalpur, 8-Panaji, 9-Port Blair, 10-Imphal, 11-Ranchi, 12-Agartala, 13-Faridabad.

Under the Smart City Mission, 100 cities across the country will be developed as smart cities by 2019-20 with the Union government providing financial support to the extent of Rs 48,000 crore over five years.

While 20 smart cities were selected during 2015-16, another 40 will be selected during 2016-17 and the remaining 40 by the next financial year.

(With Agency Inputs)