After Death Of 8 Civilians In Srinagar Bypoll, Repoll To Take Place Tomorrow
After Death Of 8 Civilians In Srinagar Bypoll, Repoll To Take Place Tomorrow

The Election Commission has ordered re-poll in 38 polling stations of the Srinagar Lok Sabha Constituency on Thursday, after nullifying the earlier polling done on Sunday amidst widespread violence.

“Having considered the reports submitted by Returning Officers read with the reports of the observers and after taking all material circumstances into account, the Commission hereby declares that the polling done on April 9 at polling stations mentioned to be void and appoints April 13 as the date of fresh poll,” the EC said in an order on Tuesday to Chief Electoral Officer of Jammu and Kashmir.

ALSO READ: Srinagar Bypolls: 8 Killed, Several Injured In Clashes Between Security Forces And Protesters

The repolling will be undertaken between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m., it said.

The maximum number of polling stations (total 16) where repolling has been ordered fall in Chadoora assembly segment. Besides, eight polling stations each fall in Budgam and Chrarisharief assembly segments.

Five polling stations are under Beerwah while one falls under Khan Sahib assembly segment.

ALSO READ: Internet Services Shut Down In Srinagar Ahead Of Polls

The by-poll to the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency — spread across three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal — was marred by widespread violence on Sunday with the police claiming that nearly 200 incidents of violent protests took place in central Kashmir.

Eight civilians were killed and scores injured in firing by security forces as mobs tried to attack some polling stations in the constituency during balloting.

The day also recorded a poor seven per cent voting — the lowest in the state in three decades.

Amid the violence, the Election Commission on Monday deferred the election in the Anantnag parliamentary constituency — scheduled to be held on April 12 — till May 25.